Tyrone celebrate and heartbreak for Tipperary after dramatic All-Ireland U21 final – The42.ie

Tyrone 1-11
Tipperary 0-13

TYRONE ENDED A 14-year wait for an All-Ireland U21 football crown tonight at Parnell Park and ensured heartbreak for Tipperary in a dramatic decider.

A 46th minute goal by Tyrone midfielder Cathal McShane was the critical score in the game when he seized an opportunity created by a brilliant surging run from Mark Kavanagh.

Tipperary cut the gap on a couple of occasions to the minimum yet despite a couple of phenomenal long-range points in injury-time by captain Colin O’Riordan, time ran out on their challenge.

The second-half of the game was held up for 40 minutes due to medical treatment being required at the interval for two spectators at the ground.

Tipperary had been in front by 0-7 to 0-5 at the interval with Kevin O’Halloran and Josh Keane leading the way in the scoring stakes for them. Mark Bradley, a late inclusion before throw-in instead of Ruairi McGlone, bagged two neat points for Tyrone and corner-back Michael Cassidy came forward to hit a fantastic long-range point.

Tyrone emerged in the second-half to draw level at 0-8 apiece before Tipperary forged a 0-10 to 0-8 advantage. Then McShane pounced for that crucial goal and it gave Tyrone a vital cushion.

Tipperary threw everything at Tyrone and even introduced senior hurler John McGrath, recently returned from injury, in the closing stages. They had the gap down to the minimum before a Daniel McNulty free and a Mark Kavanagh point from play stretched Tyrone’s advantage to three.

Tipperary mounted another late onslaught and captain O’Riordan struck a brace of points. They couldn’t find the levelling score though and despite Cassidy being shown a late red card, Tyrone clung on for victory.

Scorers for Tyrone: Cathal McShane 1-0, Daniel McNulty 0-3 (0-3f), Mark Bradley, Lee Bradley (0-2f) 0-2 each, Conor Meyler, Michael Cassidy, Mark Kavanagh 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Kevin O’Halloran 0-6 (0-5f), Josh Keane 0-3 (0-1f), Colin O’Riordan 0-2 (0-1f), Ian Fahey, Bill Maher 0-1 each.


1. Sean Fox (Killyclogher)

2. Ruairí Mullan (Cookstown)
3. Padraig Hampsey (Coalisland)
4. Michael Cassidy (Ardboe)

5. Ciaran McLaughlin (Omagh)
6. Ruairi Brennan (Trillick)
7. Kieran McGeary (Pomeroy)

8. Frank Burns (Pomeroy)
9. Cathal McShane (Eoghan Roe O’Neill)

10. Conor Meyler (Omagh)
11. Mark Kavanagh (Errigal Ciarán)
12. Matthew Walsh (Dungannon)

13. Lee Brennan (Trillick)
14. Daniel McNulty (Clonoe)
23. Mark Bradley (Killyclogher)

15. Ruairi McGlone (Aghaloo) for Walsh (half-time)
17. Ruairi Kelly (Trillick) for McShane (inj) (58)
21. Peter McKenna (Donaghmore) for Lee Brennan (62)


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

2. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
3. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
4. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)

5. Ross Mulcahy (Moyle Rovers)
6. Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers)
7. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

8. Steven O’Brien (Ballina)
9. Colin O’Riordan (JK Brackens)

10. Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials)
11. Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
12. Liam Casey (Cahir)

13. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)
14. Josh Keane (Golden Kilfeacle)
15. Paul Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

21. John McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney) for 15. Paul Maher (52)

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Longford)