Conor Sweeney Australia Bound

Congratulations to Conor Sweeney on his International Compromise Rules Call Up


We extend our congratulations to Ballyporeen’s Conor Sweeney who has been selected for the upcoming International Rules Series between Ireland and Australia next month.

Irish manager Joe Kernan, assisted by Pádraic Joyce, Dermot Earley and Darragh Ó Sé, revealed his squad today after having trials in the GAA’s Development Centre at the National Sports Campus in Abbottstown over the last number of weeks.

They also revealed that Mayo’s Aidan O’ Shea will captain the squad. In all fourteen counties are represented in the 21-strong panel with Mayo leading the contingent with four players and Kerry next with three. There are no representative from the All-Ireland winning Dublin team.

The two-game series will take place in Adelaide on Sunday, November 12th and the second game is in Perth on Saturday, November 18th with the destination of the Cormac McAnallen Cup decided by scoring difference over the two games.

Conor follows in the footsteps of a number of Tipperary footballers who have represented their country. In 2014 and 2015 Ciarán McDonnald played against Australia while Declan Browne featured in both 2003 and 2004. Derry Foley was part of the squads in 1999 and 1998 while Brian Burke also played in 1990.

We wish Conor and the rest of the squad the very best of luck in Australia.

Ireland 2017 International Rules Squad

Niall Morgan (Tyrone), Chris Barrett (Mayo), Gary Brennan (Clare), Eoin Cadogan (Cork), Killian Clarke (Cavan), Peter Crowley (Kerry), Kevin Feely (Kildare), Paul Geaney (Kerry), Pearce Hanley (Mayo), Brendan Harrison (Mayo), Conor Mc Manus (Monaghan), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Niall Murphy (Sligo), Paul Murphy (Kerry), Karl O’Connell (Monaghan), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Niall Sludden (Tyrone), Enda Smith (Roscommon), Conor Sweeney (Tipperary), Zach Tuohy (Laois), Shane Walsh (Galway)

Stand-by Players

Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Niall Grimley (Armagh), Connaire Harrison (Down), Caolan Mooney (Down), Sean Murphy (Carlow), Brendan Murphy (Carlow), Sean Powter (Cork)


Meanwhile Australia have named a very strong panel ahead of the upcoming series.


Gary Ablett (Gold Coast), All Australian 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 (vice-captain), 2011 (captain), 2012 (vice-captain), 2013 (vice-captain), 2014. Never previously played IRS.

Eddie Betts (Adelaide), All Australian 2015, 2016, 2017. IRS representative 2010, 2015.

Travis Boak (Port Adelaide), All Australian 2014, 2014. IRS representative 2014.

Shaun Burgoyne (Hawthorn), All Australian 2006. IRS representative 2008.

Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong), All Australian 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017. IRS representative 2010, 2014, 2015.

Nathan Fyfe (Fremantle), All Australian 2014, 2015. Never previously played IRS.

Brendon Goddard (Essendon), All Australian 2009, 2010. IRS representative 2006, 2014, 2015.

Toby Greene (Greater Western Sydney). All Australian 2006. Never previously played IRS.

Michael Hibberd (Melbourne), All Australian 2017. Never previously played IRS.

Rory Laird (Adelaide), All Australian 2017. Never previously played IRS.

Zac Merrett (Essendon), All Australian 2017. Never previously played IRS.

Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood), All Australian 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014. IRS representative 2008.

Paddy Ryder (Port Adelaide), All Australian 2017. Never previously played IRS.

Joel Selwood (Geelong), All Australian 2009, 2010, 2013 (captain), 2014 (captain), 2016 (captain), 2017. IRS representative 2014 (captain).

Rory Sloane (Adelaide), All Australian 2016. Never previously played IRS.

Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide), All Australian 2013, 2015. IRS representative 2014.

Dayne Zorko (Brisbane Lions), All Australian 2017. Never previously played IRS.


The Friends of Tipperary Football will be selling membership at the Clonmel Commercials Dr. Crokes game this Sunday and once again it is a very reasonably priced €20.


Membership enters each supporter into the following draws:
Two All Ireland Final Football tickets 2018
Two All Ireland Final Hurling tickets 2018
Two Tickets for each Tipperary Senior Football Championship matches 2018
Two  All Ireland Club Final tickets 2018
Two Allianz National Football League tickets for each Tipperary League match in 2018


Plus, all members will receive an exclusive car sticker.


Alternatively, if you would like to join online you can do so at