Disappointment for Tipperary as Cork Progress in Eirgrid Munster Under-20 Championship

Disappointment for Tipperary as Cork Progress in the Eirgrid Munster Under-20 Championship

Tipperary stand to attention for Amhrán na bhFiann

Eirgrid Munster Under-20 Quarter Final

Cork 1-20 Tipperary 0-8

The disappointment was evident from all concerned following Cork’s 1-20 to 0-8 win over Tipperary this evening in Páirc Uí Rinn especially given the huge effort put in by the panel, management and backroom team all year in preparation for this game. While there is no doubt that Cork deserved their win, the margin did not do justice to this hardworking Tipperary side who were unfortunate to see a number of chances at crucial stages drift wide and drop short and they also had to play with fourteen men following John Lyons’s black card in the 48th minute after using their full compliment of substitutes.

Played in front of 1,161 spectators Tipperary started brightly and owned the ball in the opening minutes and took the lead for the one and only time through a fine Ryan Lambe point in the fifth minute however the home side soon took over and controlled the game throughout.

With the wind at their backs Cork entered the break 0-11 to 0-3 to the good although with twenty minutes on the clock the score stood at 0-5 to 0-3 with Ríain Quigley and Conal Kennedy getting Tipperary’s second and third points and no one in attendance could have foreseen the chokehold Cork would have from here on in. In an eight minute spell Cork kicked six unanswered points and indeed could have had two goals also but for the cat-like reflexes of Kian Quinn in the Premier goal.

Tipperary needed to start brightly in the second period and they did just that through substitute Jack Delahunty who fired over two quick points but any hopes of a Premier revival were quickly put to bed. Cork quickly got into their stride and reeled off 1-9 to end Tipperary’s hopes in this contest with Cillian Myers Murray grabbing the game’s sole goal.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jack Delahunty 0-3 , Conal Kennedy (0-2) , Ryan Lambe (0-1), Riain Quigley (0-1), Brian Fitzpatrick (0-1).

Scorers for Cork: C Óg Jones (0-6), C Myers Murray (1-1), M Bradley (0-4), S Walsh (0-3), T Corkery and D Gore (0-2), A Browne (0-1) C Maguire (0-1).


1. Kian Quinn (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), 2. Gavin Whelan (Ardfinnan), 3. Dean Carew (Upperchurch-Drombane), 4. Conn Bonnar (Cashel King Cormacs), 5. Darragh O’Leary (Ardfinnan), 6. Daire Egan (Galtee Rovers), 7. Gavin Ryan (Clonmel Commercials), 8. Ben Hyland (Fr. Sheehys), 9. Conor O’Sullivan (Clonmel Commercials), 10. Ríain Quigley – (Moyle Rovers), 11. Jack Harney (Moyle Rovers), 12. Daire Brennan (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), 13. Conal Kennedy (0-2) (Clonmel Commercials), 14. Dan O’Meara (Kiladangan), 15. Ryan Lambe (Clonmel Commercials)


19. Eanna McBride (JK Brackens) for Bonnar (22), 18. Jack Delahunty (0-3) (Newport) for O’Leary (HT), 23. John Lyons (Grangemockler-Ballyneale) for Lambe (42), 17. Liam Meagher (Killenaule) for Quigley (44), 21. Brian Fitzpatrick ( Cashel King Cormacs) for Hyland (46), 20. Stephen Grogan ( Cahir) for O’Sullivan (46).


1. Ian Giltinan (Carrigaline), 2. Nathan Walsh (Douglas), 3. Brian Murphy (Nemo Rangers), 4. Liam O’ Donovan (Clonakilty), 5. Tadhg Corkery (Cill Na Matra), 6. Aidan Browne (Newmarket), 7. Tom Linehan (St Michaels), 8. Maurice Shanley (Clonakilty), 9. Jack Ryan (Ballymartle), 10. Mark Keane (Mitchelstown), 11. Colm O’Callaghan (Eire Og), 12. Cathal Maguire (Castlehaven), 13. Chris Og Jones (Iveleary), 14. Matthew Bradley (Aghabullogue), 15. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)


21. Cillian Myers Murray (St Finbarrs) for Ryan (42), 20. Sean Walsh (Mitchelstown) for Maguire (46), 23. Colm Barrett (St Finbarrs) for Bradley (46), 22. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers) for Og Jones (50), 24. Donagh Shorten (Ballingeary) for Shanley (54), 18. Sean O Sullivan (Mitchelstown) for Linehan (54)

Referee: Padraig O’Sullivan (Kerry)

Tipperary Football Committee secretary Hugh Coughlan and chairperson Barry O’ Brien

The Tipperary management at half-time