Disappointment for Tipperary as Louth are promoted to Division Two

Disappointment for Tipperary as Louth are promoted to Division Two

Tipperary 0-12

Louth 0-16


Louth have completed a fairytale season in Division Three after being promoted at the first time of asking following their successful campaign in Division Four in 2016 but it leaves Tipperary with a difficult task next weekend as they travel to Armagh and nothing less than a win will do for the Premier otherwise another year in Division Three awaits.

Played in front of 1067 spectators, Liam Kearns’ men will look back on today’s game with a lot of regrets including missed frees and a penalty which crashed off the Town End post however the Leinster men were well drilled, worked extremely hard and took their chances especially when momentum swung their way in the crucial final ten minutes of the game.

Things however did look promising for Tipperary during the opening period as Louth had full-back Patrick Reilly black-carded and despite playing with a strong breeze at their backs, they trailed the hosts 0-8 to 0-6 at the interval.

In the 37th minute Michael Quinlivan was through on goal and just as he was about to pull the trigger he was fouled and up stepped Conor Sweeney to take the resultant penalty. His well struck shot hit the post but Philip Austin was quickest to react and he registered a point.

Louth started the second period playing some fine football and James Stewart forced All-Star nominee Evan Comerford into making a superb save, tipping the goal-bound effort over the crossbar. This was to be the start of a Louth period of dominance and they kicked four unanswered points to take a 0-12 to 0-10 lead. Both teams suffered black cards in the second half, Declan Byrne for Louth and Michael Quinlivan for Tipperary. Try as they might Tipperary, despite drawing level, couldn’t overtake the visitors and they held out for a 0-16 to 0-12 victory.

Scorers for Tipperary: Conor Sweeney 0-4 (3f), Michael Quinlivan (1f) & Liam McGrath 0-2 each, Jack Kennedy, Josh Keane (f), Kevin O’Halloran (f) & Philip Austin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Louth: Eoin O’Connor 0-5 (1f), Derek Maguire & Dean Maguire 0-2 each, John Bingham, James Stewart, Tommy Durnin, Declan Byrne, Paraic Smith (f), Conal McKeever & Gerard McSorley 0-1 each.


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
2. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)
4. Willie Connors (Kildanagan)
5. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash),
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers, Cork)
7. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
8. Liam Casey (Cahir)
9. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)
10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
11. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)
12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)
13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney).
21. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers) for Fox (temp 8-17)
22. Philip Austin (Borrisokane) for Keane (inj., 20)
17. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials) for Maher (h.t.)
21. Liam Boland for O’Halloran (59)
18. Shane O’Connell (Golden-Kilfeacle) for Quinlivan (b/c 66).


1. Craig Lynch (Naomh Máirtín)
2. Padraig Rath (Dreadnots)
3. Patrick Reilly (St Bride’s)
4. John Bingham (Ardee St Mary’s)
5. Derek Maguire (Dundalk Young Irelands)
17. Kurt Murphy (Sean Mathúna)
7. James Stewart (Dundalk Gaels)
20. Dean Maguire (Dundalk Young Irelands)
8. Tommy Durnin (Westerns)
10. Declan Byrne (St Mochta’s)
11. Paraic Smith (Dreadnots)
12. Bevan Duffy (St Fechin’s)
21. Conor Martin (Sean O’Mahony’s)
22. Eoin O’Connor (St Patrick’s)
25. Sam Mulroy (Naomh Máirtín)
14. Kevin Carr (Newtown Blues) for Reilly (b/c 25)
26. Gerard McSorley (Dundalk Gaels) for Mulroy (41)
23. Ryan Burns (Hunterstown Rovers) or Byrne (b/c 59)
13. Ruairí Moore (O’Raghallaighs) for Durnin (64)
19. Conal McKeever (Clan na nGael) for Martin (70+3)
24. Derek Crilly Dundalk Gaels) for O’Connor (70+5).

Referee: Padraig O’Sullivan (Kerry)


Ben Kirwan gets his picture taken with Evan Comerford

Football Board Chairman Joe Hannigan chatting to Portroe’s John Sheedy