Mr. Mister Menswear Golf Classic

The Mr. Mister Menswear Golf Classic, held in Thurles Golf Club, was a Resounding Success

Overall winners John Darmody, Ger Ward, Anthony Ward and Paul Kennedy representing James Nolan & Co Solicitors Clonmel

Yesterday, Saturday May 6th, the Friends of Tipperary Football held their annual golf classic in Thurles Golf Club. Sponsored by Mr. Mister Menswear Cahir, Cashel and Mitchelstown, this once again proved to be a huge success with a large number of teams participating throughout Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

The various winners were as follows:

The overall classic winners were Paul Kennedy, Anthony Ward, John Darmody and Ger Ward from Ardfinnan who were representing Joseph Nolan & Co. Solicitors, Clonmel.

In second place were James Redden, Martin Redden, Willie Harty and Kevin Flynn from Nenagh while Mattie Ryan, Eamon O Gorman, Michael Ryan and Eamon Ryan finished the afternoon in third position.

Mens longest drive: Daniel Kennedy.

Mens nearest the pin: Brian Freeman

Winners of the ladies team prize: Kathleen Noonan, Rosemary Maher, Nora Byrne and Geraldine Lyons.

Ladies longest drive: Sheila Delaney

Ladies nearest the pin: Mary Hickey

In our raffle Seanie Mockler Junior won a 40” plasma TV, Con Quinn, Annacarthy won a framed photograph of the Tipperary 2016 All-Ireland hurling team while Helen Gleeson won a ladies golf bag.

We wish to thank all who kindly sponsored prizes, tee-boxes and Mr. Mister Menswear who sponsored the overall event. We also wish to thank all the players and those who organised the golf classes as well as Thurles Golf Club for hosting the event.

Recently, the Dublin working group of The Friends of Tipperary Football held a golf classic in Newlands Golf Club and on the day a fund-raising raffle was held for Autism Ireland. Jim McAuliffe was on hand to present the proceeds to Kevin Hanly who is a passionate supporter of the Tipperary footballers and you can read his story here.

Kevin Hanly receives the proceeds from the raffle held in Newlands Golf Club during the recent golf classic organised by the Dublin working group of The Friends of Tipperary Football from Jim McAuliffe

Seanie Mockler receives his TV from Michael Power, chairman of The Friends of Tipperary Football

Kevin Hanly, Seanie Mockler and Michael Power

Willie Harty, James Redden, Kevin Flynn and Martin Redden from Nenagh receive their second place prize from Michael Power

John Darmody and Michael Power