This weekend’s club results, Conor Sweeney and Ireland plus the inaugural North Tipperary LGFA Junior League

This weekend’s club results, Conor Sweeney and Ireland plus the inaugural North Tipperary LGFA Junior League

The victorious Portroe side who captured the North Tipperary Junior A football championship © @padraighogan


International Rules Series

Australia 0-15-8 (53)   Ireland…….2-10-8 (50)

Australia win series 116-103


North Tipperary Junior Football Final

Portroe 3-9   Burgess 1-10


Tipperary Water County Junior B Football Final

Boherlahan Dualla 0-5   Cashel King Cormacs 1-8


Tipperary Water County Minor B Football Championship Semi Final

Cappawhite Gaels 0-9   Kilruane MacDonaghs  6-9



International Rules

We extend our commiserations to both Conor Sweeney and the Irish International Rules squad who were beaten by Australia this weekend and thus they claimed the overall tournament.

Conor has represented both his club Ballyporeen and Tipperary with pride and honour in the Irish jersey and scored a great three-pointer last week.

Conor has followed in the footsteps of a number of Tipperary footballers who have represented their country. In 2014 and 2015 Ciarán McDonnald played against Australia while Declan Browne featured in both 2003 and 2004. Derry Foley was part of the squads in 1999 and 1998 while Brian Burke also played in 1990.

Well done Conor

Inaugural North Tipperary LGFA Junior League

Today, for the very first time in their history, Portroe, Kilruane MacDonaghs, Nenagh Éire Óg, Lorrha & Dorrha, Shannon Rovers and Kiladangan fielded a LGFA team as the inaugural North Tipperary junior championship got underway. It is fantastic to see clubs, who are primarily hurling and Camogie orientated, take a shot at Gaelic football and give their players the chance to play ladies football for the very first time. Nenagh & District had fielded a LGFA team in the past while this year Silvermines fielded a number of teams at both underage and adult level. It is hoped in the future that these sides will contest in the county championships.

Well done to these clubs for this fantastic initiative and allowing the girls to play Gaelic football. See photographs at the bottom of this report.


We extend our sympathies to the family and friends of the late Mick Egan. Mick was a fine Gaelic footballer and hurler and represented both Clonmel Commercials and Marlfields. He was part of the Tipperary senior football teams from 1964 to 1970 and served as a selector for both the senior and junior sides in 1970.

A statement on the St Marys twitter account (@StMarys_HC )  described him as “a staunch GAA man” who “had a huge passion for Gaelic games being a storied footballer with Commercials and hurler in Marlfields glory days. In latter years, he went onto be an important part of the administrive running of South Tipp GAA affairs and was universally known as a man of integrity and fairness”

Solas Mhic Dé ar a anam. 


2018 Friends of Tipperary Football Membership

Join us on our journey in 2018 by becoming a Friend of Tipperary Football:

Membership enters each Friend into the following draws:

Two All Ireland final football tickets 2018
Two All Ireland final hurling tickets 2018
Two Tickets for each of Tipperary’s senior football championship matches for 2018
Two All Ireland club final tickets 2018
Two Allianz National Football League tickets for each of Tipperary’s league matches in 2018

Plus, all Friends will receive an exclusive car sticker.

It only takes a few seconds to join and your support is appreciated by all our players.

Portroe captain James Ryan accepts the trophy from North Tipperary Board chairman Dan Kennedy © @padraighogan

Burgess, North Tipperary Junior A Finalists 2017 © @padraighogan

Referee Jim Lees and his team of officials prior to the North Tipperary Junior-A football final© @padraighogan

The very first Nenagh Éire Óg ladies football team

The very first Kilruane MacDonaghs LGFA team

The Kilruane MacDonaghs and Nenagh Éire Óg teams on the first occasion both clubs fielded a ladies football team

The Kiladangan LGFA team.

The Portroe LGFA team.