Tipperary 2-11 Clare 1-11 Munster 1/4 final 2020

David Power, in his first senior championship game as manager, led Tipperary to a deserved three-point win in Semple Stadium this afternoon

Evan Comerford made a superb second-half penalty save



Munster Senior Football Quarter Final

Tipperary 2-11 Clare 1-11

Following today’s great win in a wet and windy Semple Stadium, David Power’s Tipperary now look forward to a Munster semi-final against Limerick in LIT Gaelic Grounds next weekend.

Despite a late Clare rally which saw them reduce the arrears to a goal, Tipperary were always in control of this entertaining encounter in an eerily quiet Thurles, the venue the complete antithesis of what we’ve come to expect on a colourful Munster championship Sunday with loyal supporters forced to watch proceedings from home.

From the off Tipperary dominated this game and were rewarded early on with a neat Conor Sweeney goal which helped the Premier to a 1-3 to 0-1 at the water break with the other three points coming from placed balls with Sweeney (2) and Jack Kennedy cooly slotting over.

Goalscorer Bill Maher in first half action

Clare did manage to reduce the deficit to two points following scores from Conor Cleary (2) and Jamie Malone however a strong finish to the half saw Liam Casey score Tipperary’s only point from play in the opening half and this added to two Jack Kennedy pointed frees saw David Powers’ side enter the break leading 1-6 to 0-5.

Tipperary exploded into the second period and within the first minute Bill Maher, who was having one of his finest hours in a Blue and Gold jersey, rattled the bottom corner of the Clare net after great work from Conor Sweeney to give the Premier a cushion that they would need in the final minutes of the game.

As full time approached, Clare were awarded a penalty and David Tubridy’s stinging effort was brilliantly saved by Evan Comerford however moments later Gavin Cooney saw his shot deflected into the net to reduce the margin to three however the Banner ran out of time as Tipperary deservedly booked their place in the Munster semi final.

Tipperary Scorers: Conor Sweeney (1-04 2f), Bill Maher (1-00), Jack Kennedy (0-03 3f), Liam Casey (0-02), Liam Boland (0-01), Emmet Moloney (0-01).

Clare Scorers: Keelan Sexton (0-03 2f), Eoin Cleary (0-03 3f), Gavin Cooney (1-00), Podge Collins (0-02), Jamie Malone (0-01), Cathal O’Connor (0-01), Gary Brennan (0-01 1f).

1: Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) 3: Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule) 2: Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers) 5: Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) 6: Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials) 4: Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan) 7: Robbie Kiely (Barryroe) 9: Liam Casey (Cahir) 8: Steven O’Brien (Ballina) 10: Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials) 22: Colman Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials) 12: Conal Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials) 14: Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen) 11: Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials) 13: Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials)

15: Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty/Donohill) for Lonergan (33)
26: Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers) for O’Brien (47)
18: Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch) for C Kennedy (59)
20: Padraic Loooram (Clonmel Commercials) for Maher (71)
25: Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe) for Casey (73).

16: Stephen Ryan (Kilrush Shamrocks) 2: Gordon Kelly (St Josephs Miltown) 3: Cillian Brennan (Clondegad) 20: Kevin Harnett (Meelick) 7: Alan Sweeney (St Breckans) 15: Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora) 4: Eoghan Collins (Ballyhaunis) 5: Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare) 8: Gary Brennan (Clondegad) 9: Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen) 12: Jamie Malone (Corofin) 11: Eoin Cleary (St Josephs Miltown) 10: Ciarán Russell (Éire Óg) 13: Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane) 14: Joe McGann (St Breckans)

26: David Tubridy (Doonbeg) for McGann (21)
18: Podge Collins (Cratloe) for Russell (39)
21: Emmet McMahon (Kildysart) for Sweeney (39)
17: Sean Collins (Cratloe) for Kelly (50)
19: Gavin Cooney (Éire Óg) for Sexton (66)

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork)

Colm O’Shaughnessy in possession in the first half