Tipperary Get League Campaign off to Winning Start

Tipperary got their Allianz National Football League Division Three campaign off to the perfect start today in Semple Stadium when they defeated a determined Antrim side, who made them work all the way to the full time whistle, on a scoreline of 2-12 to 0-13.

Conor Sweeney provided the assists for the two Tipperary goals today

Antrim started the brightest, getting some fine scores and Tipperary trailed the visitors by four points approaching the half time whistle and had goalkeeper Evan Comerford to thank for making a superb diving save from Stephen Beatty to keep the Premier County in the game. Two late points reduced the deficit to leave it 0-5 to 0-7 at the break.

Goal scorer Philip Austin

Antrim packed the defence, pulling numerous players back towards the Killinan End goal and made it difficult for the advancing Tipp attack to make any serious inroads.

Tipperary started the second half brightly and started to play faster ball into the forwards which paid rich dividends when Alan Moloney, twice, delivered long balls which on both occasions found their way to Conor Sweeney who set up Michael Quinlivan and Philip Austin for the all important goals in front of a crowd of 722.

Evan Comerford made an outstanding first half save

Manager Liam Kearns will be happy with his side’s result and while there is much to work on they can look forward to next Sunday’s visit of Sligo to Semple Stadium.

Tipperary manager Liam Kearns will be happy with today’s result

Scorers for Tipperary: Philip Austin 1-2, Conor Sweeney 0-4 (2f), Michael Quinlivan 1-0, Josh Keane 0-2f, Kevin Fahey, Robbie Kiely, Liam McGrath (f) & Brian Fox 0-1 each.

Scorers for Antrim: C.J. McGourty 0-4 (2f), Ryan Murray 0-3 (2f, 1 sl), Paddy McBride & Matthew Fitzpatrick 0-2 each, Paddy McAteer & Conor Murray 0-1 each.

1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
2. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)
4. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)
5. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)
7. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
8. Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers)
9. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers)
10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
11. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Brian Fox (Captain) (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)
13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)

17. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe) for McGrath (h.t.)
20. Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch) for K Fahey (46)
18. Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials) for Dunne (66)
21. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers) for Quinlivan (68)
19. Joseph Hennessy (Loughmore-Castleiney) for Codd (69)
26. Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers) for Fox (b/c 70+1)

Liam McGrath

1. Chris Kerr (Naomh Gall)
2. Peter Healy (Naomh Eanna)
3. Patrick Gallagher (Naomh Seosamh, Lann Abhaigh)
4. Conor Hamill (Naomh Seosamh, Lann Abhaigh)
5. Paddy McBride (Naomh Eoin)
6. James Laverty (Clann na hÉireann)
7. Paddy McAteer (Naomh Uíle)
8. Martin Johnson (Ciceam an Creagán)
9. Jack Dowling (Naomh Bríd)
10. Declan Lynch (Lamh Dhearg)
11. Conor Murray (Lamh Dhearg)
12. Stephen Beatty (Uí Donnabháin Rosa)
13. Ryan Murray (Lamh Dhearg)
25. Conor Small (Ciceam an Creagán)
15. Matthew Fitzpatrick (Naomh Eoin)

24. CJ McGourty (Naomh Gall) for R Murray (b/c 35)
20. Ruairi McCann (Naomh Mhuire, Achadh Galláin) for Small (52)
21. Ruairi Scott (Naomh Eanna) for Beatty (63)
26. Sean Donnelly (Uí Donnabháin Rosa) for Lynch (64)

Referee: Brendan Cawley (Kildare)

The Hogan family from Cashel enjoying today’s game in Semple Stadium