Tipperary Lose Out to Sligo in Round 2 of the Allianz League

Tipperary lost out today to a spirited Sligo side in the second round of the Allianz National Football League but the manner of their second half fightback does give manager Liam Kearns grounds for optimism

Tipperary stand to attention for Amhrán na bhFiann

Tipperary 1-16

Sligo 2-14

Following on from last week’s win over Antrim, Tipperary entered the contest full of confidence but it was the visitors, who drew with Armagh in their opening league encounter, that started brightly and in front of 749 spectators they registered two first half goals through Kyle Cawley and Niall Murphy.

Pre-match huddle

Cawley’s shot beat Evan Comerford in the ninth minute after great approach play from wing-forward John Kelly, who fed Niall Murphy and in turn he found the goal-scorer who left the Tipperary net-minder with no chance. Murphy and Cawley again combined for their second goal eight minutes from half time with the former blasting home this time.

Robbie Kiely sets up another attack

Things got worse for the Premier men in the second period when in the 45th minute Jimmy Feehan saw two yellow cards end his involvement and Philip Austin was stretchered off after scoring a very brave point in the 66th minute following a collision with Sligo goalkeeper Aidan Devaney.

We wish Philip Austin a speedy recovery from injury

A Michael Quinlivan goal sparked a Tipperary revival with seven to play and they did manage to cut the margin to one but following Kevin O Halloran’s pointed 45, eight minutes into injury time, referee Niall Ward elected to blow the full-time whistle.

Secretary Hugh Coghlan filling out a substitute slip in Semple Stadium today

Up to this point the Yeats county were well on top and even led by ten midway through the second period however Tipperary’s spirited fightback just fell short as they unfortunately ran out of time in a frightfully freezing Semple Stadium.

Kevin O Halloran emerges from the dressing room after being introduced as a half time substitute

Liam Kearns’ men now have two weeks to prepare for their next game, an evening time clash with Laois, in Portlaoise on Saturday February 25th, who are managed by former Tipperary boss Peter Creedon.

Scorers for Tipperary: Michael Quinlivan 1-2 (0-2f), Conor Sweeney 0-5 (3f), Kevin O’Halloran 0-4 (2f, 1 45), Alan Moloney 0-2, Brian Fox, Philip Austin & Liam Boland 0-1 each.

Scorers for Sligo: Kyle Cawley 1-2, Niall Murphy 1-1, Adrian Marren 0-4 (2f), Mark Breheny 0-3 (2f), Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch 0-2, Aidan Devaney (45) & Criostóir Davey 0-1.


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
2. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)
4. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)
5. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)
7. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
8. Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers)
9. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers)
10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
11. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Brian Fox (Captain) (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)
13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)
17. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe) for McGrath (h.t.)
20. Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch) for Fahey (50)
23. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials) for Keane (58)
22. Liam Casey (Cahir) for Dunne (58)
21. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers) for Austin (inj., 69)


1 Aidan Devaney (Calry/St. Joseph’s)

2 Ross Donavan (Eastern Harps)
3 Kevin McDonnell (Castleconnor)
4 Noel Gaughan (Tourlestrane)

5 Keelan Cawley (Coolera/Strandhill)
6 Neil Ewing (Drumcliffe/Rosses Point (Capt))
7 Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch (St. Mary’s)

8 Paddy O’Connor (St. Farnan’s)
9 Adrian McIntyre (Tourlestrane)

10 Criostoir Davey (Coolaney/Mullinabreena)
11 Mark Breheny (St. Mary’s)
12 John Kelly (Tourlestrane)

13 Kyle Cawley (St. Mary’s)
14 Adrian Marre (Curry)
15 Niall Murphy (Coolera/Strandhill)


17. Eoin McHugh (St Molaise Gaels) for Keelan Cawley (injured 32)
20. Stephen Gilmartin (Tubbercurry) for O’Connor (60)
19. Stephen Coen (St Mary’s) for Murphy (62)
21. James Hynes (St Farnan’s) for Davey (70+4)
25. Enda Connolly (St Patrick’s) for Donovan (injured 70+8)

Referee: Niall Ward (Westmeath)


Eamon Ryan Junior, Eamon Mac Cormaic, Con Quinn, Eddie Ryan, Aidan MacNamara, Kevin McLoughlin

We wish to thank all spectators who took out Friends of Tipperary Football membership prior to the game today and especially to the six volunteers who kindly gave up their time to help sell it.

Membership, which costs €20, enters people into the following fantastic draws:

Two All Ireland Final Football tickets 2017
Two All Ireland Final Hurling tickets 2017
Two Tickets for each Tipperary Senior Football Championship matches 2017
Two All Ireland Club Final tickets 2017
Two National Football League tickets for each Tipperary League match 2017

Alternatively you can join online at www.friendsoftipperaryfootball.com/join or click Join at the top of this page.