Tipperary Side Named for Cavan Clash

Liam Kearns has named his side for tomorrow’s All-Ireland football round 2B qualifier against Cavan at Kingspan Breffni. Throw-in for this encounter is 2pm.


With a panel curtailed by injury, Liam has handed Championship debuts to Emmett Moloney (Drom & Inch) and Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials) among four changes to the side which lost narrowly to Cork in their recent Munster Semi-Final. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan) and Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe) are the other players also drafted in.

The Tipperary starting XV lines out as follows;

1.  Ciarán Kenrick – Moyle Rovers
2. Colm O’Shaughnessy – Ardfinnan
3. Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers
4. Emmet Moloney – Drom & Inch
5. Bill Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
6. Robbie Kiely – Carbery Rangers
7. Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule
8. Liam Casey – Cahir
9. George Hannigan – Shannon Rovers
10. Josh Keane – Golden-Kilfeacle
11. Liam Boland – Moyle Rovers
12. Brian Fox (Capt.) – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill
13. Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen
14. Kevin O’Halloran – Portroe
15. Jack Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials


Cavan manager Mattie McGleenan has also announced his side. There are four changes from the starting fifteen which defeated Offaly by four points two weeks ago with Killian Clarke, Niall Murray, Tomas Corr and Caoimhin O’Reilly (first championship start) coming in.

1. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)
2. Padraig Faulkner (Kingscourt)
3. Killian Clarke (Shercock)
4. Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)
5. James McEnroe (Ramor United)
6. Niall Murray (Cavan Gaels)
7. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)
8. Liam Buchanan (Ballymachugh)
9. Tomas Corr (Denn)
10. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
11. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
12. Ciaran Brady (Arvagh)
13. Caoimhin O’Reilly (Butlersbridge)
14. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)
15. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)

16. James Farrelly (Kingscourt)
17. Fergal Reilly (Castlerahan)
18. Killian Brady (Mullahoran)
19. Sean Johnston (Cavan Gaels)
20. Niall Clerkin (Shercock)
21. Niall McDermott (Ballinagh)
22. Shane O’Rourke (Laragh United)
23. Joe Dillon (Kingscourt)
24. Niall McKiernan (Lacken)
25. Ryan Connolly (Drumlane)
26. Thomas Galligan (Lacken)

Due to the similar nature of both teams’ colours, Cavan and Tipperary will change jerseys for tomorrow’s encounter with Tipperary expected to wear navy.

Please click here for a preview of tomorrow’s crucial match.



If you would like to join the Friends of Tipperary Football you can do so by clicking here. Membership is only €20 and all proceeds go towards the development of Gaelic football in Tipperary. Membership includes entry into draws for match tickets and you will also receive a small gift as a token of our and the players appreciation.

Kevin Hanly

Colm O Shaughnessy and Kevin Hanly

In other news well known Tipperary supporter Kevin Hanly spoke with www.asiam.ie and discussed various aspects of his life including his support of the Tipperary footballers. You can read his interview here.

Semple Stadium

We wish to congratulate all the staff in Semple Stadium after the grounds recently won the inaugural best pitch award. For many years countless players heaped praise on the playing surface and we are delighted that it has now gotten official recognition. For more information please click here.