Tipperary Team to Face Cork

Manager Liam Kearns has announced the team to play Cork tomorrow evening in Semple Stadium in round five of the Allianz League

John Meagher in action last year against Cork

Allianz National League Round Five

Tipperary V Cork

Semple Stadium, Thurles

Saturday 2nd March 2019, 7pm

Kevin Fahey and Liam Boland come in for the injured Paul Maher and Kevin O’Halloran while Brian Fox is free to play following a successful appeal of his suspension.

1. Michael O’Reilly – Clonmel Commercials
2. Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers
3. John Meagher – Loughmore-Castleiney
4. Emmett Moloney – Drom-Inch
5. Kevin Fahey – Clonmel Commercials
6. Daire Brennan – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
7. Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule
8. Steven O’Brien – Ballina
9. Liam Casey – Cahir
10. Liam Boland – Moyle Rovers
11. Liam McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
26. Brian Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill            
13. Philip Austin – Borrisokane
14. Conor Sweeney (Capt.) – Ballyporeen
15. Jack Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials

16. Aaron Wall – Cahir
17. Paddy Codd -Killenaule
18. Colm O’Shaughnessy – Ardfinnan
19. Conal Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials
20. Ben Hyland – Fr. Sheehy’s
21. Tommy Lowry – Arravale Rovers
22. Darragh O’Leary – Ardfinnan
23. Jack Delahunty – Newport
24. Dean McEnroe – JK Brackens
25. John Lyons – Grangemocker-Ballyneale
12. Dan O’Meara – Kiladangan

Cork have also announced their side for tomorrow’s encounter:

1. Micheál Aodh Martin (Nemo Rangers), 2. Sam Ryan (St Finbarrs), 3. Kevin Flahive (Douglas), 4. Conor Dennehy (St Finbarrs), 5. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet), 6. Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty), 7. Mattie Taylor (Mallow), 8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs), 9. Killian O’ Hanlon (Kilshannig), 10. Mark Collins (Castlehaven), 11. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers), 12. Ruairi Deane (Bantry), 13. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven), 14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven), 15. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), 16. Chris Kelly (Eire Og), 17. Kevin O’ Donovan (Nemo Rangers), 18. Peter Murphy (Bandon), 19. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy), 20. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers), 21. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig), 22. Paul Walsh (Kanturk), 23. Ronan O’ Toole (Eire Og), 24. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree), 25. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea), 26. Sean Powter (Douglas)

Meanwhile hurling manager Liam Sheedy has announced the side to play Cork in Sunday’s match against the Rebels.

Liam Sheedy in Innovate Wexford Park

  1. Paul Maher – Moyne-Templetuohy
    2. Cathal Barrett – Holycross-Ballycahill
    3. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane
    4. Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
    5. Joe O’Dwyer – Killenaule
    6. Padraic Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
    7. Robert Byrne – Portroe
    8. Noel McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
    9. Michael Breen – Ballina
    10. Jake Morris – Nenagh Éire Óg
    11. Niall O’Meara – Kilruane MacDonaghs
    12. Jason Forde – Silvermines
    13. John O’Dwyer – Killenaule
    14. Séamus Callanan (Capt.) – Drom-Inch
    15. John McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney

16. Brian Hogan – Lorrha-Dorrha
17. Ger Browne – Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams
18. Willie Connors – Kiladangan
19. Colin English – Fr. Sheehy’s
20. Alan Flynn – Kiladangan
21. Barry Heffernan – Nenagh Éire Óg
22. Séamus Kennedy – St. Mary’s
23. Donagh Maher – Burgess
24. Patrick Maher – Lorrha-Dorrha
25. Mark McCarthy – Toomevara
26. Jamie Moloney – Drom-Inch         

The Cork side is as follows: A. Nash; D. Browne, D. Cahalane, S. McDonnell; C. Joyce, T. O’Mahony, E. Cadogan; C. Murphy, B. Cooper; C. Lehane, S. Harnedy (c), D. Dooley; J. O’Connor, A. Walsh, P. Horgan.

Brian Fox

And the football squad received a timely boost last night with the news that Éire Óg Annacarty’s Brian Fox successfully appealed his red card from the game against Armagh last Sunday, meaning he is cleared to play in tomorrow’s game.

Tipperary LGFA

Last weekend was a momentous weekend for the Tipperary LGFA side as they claimed their first win of this year’s league by beating one of the major scalps in football, Cork, in the Lidl National football league with Cahir’s Aishling Moloney grabbing a personal tally of 2-9 in her sides historic 3-13 to 1-18 win. Aishling’s fisted goal left Pat Spillane’s special from the 1986 All-Ireland final in the ha’penny place as she connected perfectly to leave the Cork goalkeeper with no chance. It was no surprise to see https://sportsjoe.ie named her on their Gaelic football team of the week. You can see their team here.

Special mention must also go to Caitlin Kennedy who, at sixteen years, showed composure and brilliance beyond her age to smash the winning goal to the roof of the net. The team displayed great maturity following Caitlin’s special to retain possession and starve Cork of the ball before the final whistle.

The side travel a huge distance this weekend to play Donegal in round four in Convey on Saturday afternoon and we wish them the very best of luck.

Check out Aishling’s goal below and compare it to Pat’s from 1986 at 2:40 minutes in the video underneath.

Another Tipperary LGFA player who is setting the playing fields alight is Aisling McCarthy as she continued her great form for the Western Bulldogs last weekend when she scored this cracking goal against Brisbane Lions in the third quarter. She continues to prove to be a great representative of Cahir, Tipperary and Ladies LGFA in general as well as an inspiration to all young players. 

Henry Delaney (Burgess) with Kevin Hanly (Solohead) at last week’s game in Armagh.

Tipperary supporters Betty and Liam Casey in Armagh last weekend.