Tremendous Weekend Shows the Future is Bright

This weekend saw our county under-14, under-15 and under-16 footballers take part in their various tournaments with numerous positive results highlighting the quality work taking place in the Premier.

©Steven Lynch


Tipperary under-14 panel

The Tipperary under-14 football squad traveled to Dungarvan last Saturday to compete in the Jim Power Munster tournament, the results of which would determine whether we would compete in the cup or shield finals on July 28th again in Dungarvan. We were drawn in a group of three with Limerick and Cork Mid-West.

Our first game against Limerick was a rather one sided affair as we lead 2-4 to 0-0 at half-time. We brought all our substitutes on and conceded three late goals but ran out easy winners 5-7 to 3-0.

Our second game was against a very strong Cork Mid-West team was a very different affair. In a brilliant game of football we were 1-7 to 1-5 behind at half-time and with five minutes to go we were four points down but our boys never gave up and fought back to win by four. It was a brilliant result as on such a warm day we had to play our games back to back while Cork Mid-West had a break while we played Limerick, we topped our group and now join the elite of Munster football in the cup finals.

Panel: Shane Ryan Clonmel Commercials, Tom Bourke JK Brackens, Eoghan Doyle Rockwell Rovers, James Cody Mullinahone, Odhrain Donaghy Durlas Óg, Stephen Dee Solohead, Jamie Carroll Emly, Conor Wall Durlas Óg, Michael Ryan Ballingarry, Ben Ryan Arravale Rovers, Philly Hayes Durlas Óg, Oisin Maher Cahir, Sean Ryan Upperchurch Drombane, Eoghan Craddock Holycross, Orrin Jones Knockavilla Kickhams, Paul Mullen Drom & Inch, Darragh Minogue Durlas Óg, Vanson Worrell Moneygall, Sean Leahy Cahir, Conor Farrell Knockavilla Kickhams, Jack O’ Neill Ardfinnan, Darragh McVickers Clonmel Óg, Brian Quinn JK Brackens, JP Anglim Rosegreen, Ciaran Woodlock Durlas Óg, Tristan McCormack Ryan Moycarkey Borris, Ben Currivan Golden Kilfeacle, Tadhg Gould Holycross, Alex Moloney Durlas Óg, Donnacha O’ Mara Lorrha & Dorrha, Conor Parker Clonmel Commercials, Adam Brannigan Clonmel Commercials.

Tommy landers        Knockavilla Kickhams
Anthony Shelley      JK Brackens
Shane Hodgkin.       Knockshegowna
Trevor Creed.           Clonmel commercials
Derry peters.            Aherlow.


The Tipperary under-15 panel

The under-15 side had a brilliant win the Shield Final defeating Clare 5-9 to 0-12. They had previously lost their opening game to Kerry South by one point, 2-10 to 3-6 which sent them into the shield competition. There they beat Limerick in the semi-final 3-10 to 1-5 before accounting for The Banner in the final. Well done to team captain Jamie Durcan, vice-captain Emmet Butler, the entire panel and management.

Panel: James Griffin Upperchurch Drombane, Shane Ryan, Conor Neville Kilsheelan Kilcash, Niall Duffy Newport, Daniel Slattery Clonoulty Rossmore, Toby Lambe Holycross Ballycahill, Eoin O’ Dwyer Mullinahone, Stephen Cahill JK Brackens, Emmet Butler Kilsheelan Kilcash, Oisin Treacy Upperchurch Drombane, Kyle Bourke Rockwell Rovers, Sam McGawran Clonmel Commercials, Edward Meagher Loughmore Castleiney, Pa Ryan Upperchurch Drombane, Stephen Ferncombe Clonoulty Rossmore, Michael Ryan Burgess, Jack Kennedy Clonoulty Rossmore, Jack Leamy Golden, Jamie Durcan Knockavilla, Luke Shanahan Upperchurch, Luke Galvin Holycross, Conor Dooley Inane Rovers, Tony Cahill Drom & Inch, Eoin Grace Burgess, Eoghain Lonergan Arravale Rovers, Rian O’ Halloran Moyle Rovers, Jack Buckley Cahir, Peter McGarry Moyle Rovers, Rory Collins Moyle Rovers, Tom Downey Rockwell Rovers.

©Steven Lynch


The Tipperary under-16 panel

The under-16 side acquitted themselves extremely well winning three out of their four games.

They defeated Cork Red 1-3 to 0-11, Waterford 2-12 to 1-4, before overcoming the challenge of Clare by seven points but unfortunately came unstuck against Cork Red in the final.

Panel: Adam Quigley Kilsheelan Kilcash, Adam Ryan Ballinahinch, Ben Comerford Grangemockler, Ben O’ Connell Kilsheelan Kilcash, Conor Shanahan Inane Rovers, Darragh McCahey Loughmore Castleiney, Dominik Mroczerk Inane Rovers, Dylan Hogan Inane Rovers, Ed Connelly Loughmore Castleiney, Francie Delaney Cahir, Jack Lillis Drom & Inch, James Armstrong Durlas Óg, James O’ Sullivan Cashel, Jimmy Mullen Drom & Inch, Kevin Cleary Rockwell Rovers, Leon Kennedy Grangemockler, Liam King Ballina, Luke Seacy Inane Rovers, Mark O’ Connor Clonmel Commercials, Martin Paul O’ Dwyer Boherlahan Dualla, Mathew Power Ballina, Ryan Walsh Fethard, Sean Harnett Inane Rovers, Shane Sweeney JK Brackens, Tadhg Condon Clonmel Commercials, Tom Tobin Rockwell Rovers, Tomás Burke Boherlahan Dualla, Donagh Hickey Arravale Rovers, Christy McDonagh Cahir, Kyle Shelly Moycarkey Borris, Paddy Creedon Durlas Óg, Jamie Holloway Carrick, Conor Donovan Inane Rovers, Dara King New Inn.

©Steven Lynch