Waterford 2-8 Tipperary 0-9

Deise never rattled

Waterford 2-8 Tipperary 0-9

Ads by Google

Limerick 1-Day Coupons

Up To 90% Off The Best Stuff To Do! Activities, Spas, Events And More.


Dental Implants Munster

Save €’s On Dental Implants – Enquire Online Today!


Waterford Group Partys

Dinner for 10 & Overnight Stay Call 1890 269 969 to book Now!


GPA: A Better Future

Gaelic Players Association Player Development Programme


The Top 10 Golf Mistakes?

Play the Best Golf of Your Life in Just 2 Weeks – 10 Free Videos


Sunday March 13 2011

Waterford gathered the all important points in Division 3 of the NFL last night with a deserved victory over Tipperary in the first ever floodlight league game to be played in Fraher Field.

Tipperary raced three points ahead through a Barry Grogan free and Conor Sweeney and Brian Fox points.

Waterford settled with scores from Brian Wall and Eamonn Walsh but Tipp led 0-4 to 0-3 when Eamonn Walsh got in for a well taken Waterford goal on 24 minutes. A Shane Briggs pass and a powerful finish from Walsh saw Waterford take the lead.

Wall added two further points as Waterford began tov dominate. Eamonn Walsh created Waterford’s second goal on 32 minutes which was well finished by Patrick Hurney to give the Deise men a commanding 2-5 to 0-4 lead at the break.

Tipp improved in the second half with points from Barry Grogan and Brian Fox but Wall added some great points to seal the home victory.

Scorers — Waterford: P Hurney,E Walsh 1-1 each, B Wall 0-4 (1f), S Fleming, M O’ Gorman 0-1 each. Tipperary: B Grogan 0-4 (1f, 1 ’45’), B Fox 0-2, H Coughlan, C McSweeney, G Hannigan 0-1 each.

Waterford: K Cotter; M O’ Gorman, T O’ Gorman, W Hennessy; S Briggs, J Hurney, E Walsh; B Phelan, B Wall; P Hurney, T Connors, M Ferncombe, T Prendergast, S Fleming. Subs: M O’ Gorman for Phelan (54), C O’ Keeffee for Ferncombe (57), S Dempsey for Walsh (67), T Grey for P Hurney (71).

Tipperary: P Fitzgerald; A Morrissey, P Codd, C McDonald; N Curran, L Egan, H Coughlan; B Jones, S Grogan; B Fox, P Austin, P Acheson; C McSweeney, G Hannigan, B Grogan. Subs: S Hassey for C McSweeney (30), C McGrath for Egan (h-t), J Gagney for S Grogan (54), A Matassa for Austin, B Mulvihill for Fox (65).