Tipperary’s Gaelic Football News

Tipperary’s Gaelic Football News

Canon Hayes Award

Congratulations to the Tipperary LGFA team who won the County Award at the Canon Hayes Awards recently in the Great National Ballykisteen Hotel for their remarkable achievements in 2017 when they won both the league and championship double. Tyrone’s Sean Cavanagh received the Mick Doyle Golden Sporting Memory award after a glittering career with the Ulster county.

Tipperary Association Dublin

Today at the annual convention in The Dome, Liam Myles on behalf of the Tipperary Association in Dublin presented three scholarship awards to Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch), Kevin Fahy (Clonmel Commercials) and Emma Buckley (Cahir). Thanks to the Tipperary Association in Dublin for this extremely kind gesture.


Friends of Tipperary Football West and South Launch

Yesterday following the senior challenge match between Tipperary and Limerick, the 2018 membership of the Friends in the West was launched in the Golden Kilfeacle clubhouse. The South division also launched their 2018 membership in the Clonmel Park Hotel prior to the medal presentation to the senior footballers following their success in the Allianz National Football League earlier this year. On hand at both launches were members of the Tipperary Football Committee, members of the Friends of Tipperary Football and senior players from both divisions. You can join the Friends on the following link www.friendsoftipperaryfootball.com or by contacting any committee member.


One of Tipperary’s best known supporters Kevin Hanly (Solohead) has put together the following fantastic video to help encourage people to join the Friends. As you can see from the video he is really putting to good use the knowledge he has gained from his TV and Film Production course in Limerick College of Further Education. Thank you, Kevin, for all the hard work and your consistent support.

County Convention

Congratulations to John Devane (Boherlahan Dualla) who today at the county convention took over the role of Tipperary County Chairperson from Michael Bourke. John Costigan elected new Vice-President of Tipperary County Board, following the passing of Michael Maher during the past year while Joe Kennedy (Moyne-Templetuohy) defeated Jimmy Minogue (Nenagh Éire Óg) 114 to 111 to become new Vice-Chairman of Tipperary County Board.


Tributes Flow in for Ciarán McDonald

Following the revelation that Ciarán McDonald has been forced to retire from inter county action due to ongoing injury issues the tributes have been flowing in for one of Tipperary’s greatest ever defenders. You can read news of Ciarán’s retirement here.


You can read a selection of the tweets about Ciarán’s retirement below:




Join us on our journey in 2018 by becoming a Friend of Tipperary Football: www.friendsoftipperaryfootball.com/join

Membership enters each Friend into the following draws:


Two All Ireland final football tickets 2018
Two All Ireland final hurling tickets 2018
Two Tickets for each of Tipperary’s senior football championship matches for 2018
Two All Ireland club final tickets 2018
Two Allianz National Football League tickets for each of Tipperary’s league matches in 2018


Plus, all Friends will receive an exclusive car sticker.

It only takes a few seconds to join and your support is appreciated by all our players.